Arkansas Trucking Association

You are here: Home Article Archive Arkansas Road Team Welcomes Five New Captains

Arkansas Road Team Welcomes Five New Captains

road team logo1rgbThe Arkansas Trucking Association is pleased to announce it has selected five new members to join the Arkansas Road Team, a group of professional drivers chosen for their commitment to highway safety, communication skills and interest in improving the image of the trucking industry. This complimentary outreach program of the ATA serves as a public education service to address highway safety and to educate the motoring public on safe driving, especially near large commercial vehicles.

The following professional drivers were selected for the Arkansas Road Team:
Wesley Cox of Fayetteville, Ark. – J.B. Hunt Transport       
Ronnie Mahan of Sherwood, Ark. – FedEx Freight        
Donnie Pace of Little Rock, Ark. – ABF Freight 
Lazaro Ruiz of Bono, Ark. – Old Dominion Freight Line  
Austin Simmons of Siloam Springs, Ark. – FedEx Freight         

Candidates for the Road Team competed in the final stage of the selection process on Aug. 2 in Little Rock, Ark. Nominees were judged by a panel of experts from trucking, law enforcement and media on their knowledge of the trucking industry, dedication to safety, overall safe driving record and ability to communicate the trucking industry's message.

“These five drivers impressed the selection panel with their professionalism, engaging personalities and dedication to safety,” said Shannon Newton, president of the Arkansas Trucking Association. “We believe these qualities will serve them well as an Arkansas Road Team Captains. Coupled with their commitment to safe driving, we know they will serve as wonderful ambassadors for our industry, and we are proud to share their stories and experiences with communities across the state.”

The Arkansas Road Team and its Share the Road program are made possible by grants awarded by the Arkansas Highway Commission with funds from the Arkansas Commercial Truck Safety and Education Program.

Since its formation in 2015, the Arkansas Road Team has taken the Share the Road safe-driving program to hundreds of schools, festivals and other events throughout the state. The Arkansas Road Team’s Share the Road presentations are offered at no cost and can be scheduled by contacting ATA at 501-372-3462 or visiting

2021AR NewCaptains

Contact Us

Arkansas Trucking Association
PO Box 3476 (72203)
1401 West Capitol Ave.
Suite 185
Little Rock, AR 72201

(501) 372-3462 | Phone
(501) 376-1810 | Fax

Our Mission

  • PROTECT the collective interests of trucking companies in the political and regulatory arenas.
  • PROMOTE the dynamics of trucking so that people have a better understanding of the link between America's primary freight delivery system and the standard of living they enjoy.
  • SERVE our members to help them to grow their business and their profits
You are here: Home Article Archive Arkansas Road Team Welcomes Five New Captains