Arkansas Trucking Association

You are here: Home Article Archive Three Arkansas Seniors to Receive ATA Scholarships

Three Arkansas Seniors to Receive ATA Scholarships

Three Arkansas Seniors to Receive Technician Scholarships from Arkansas Trucking Association

Three graduating seniors have been selected to receive scholarships from the Arkansas Trucking Association. Each of the students will receive a $7,500 scholarship from the Carl Tapp Memorial Scholarship Fund to support their pursuit of careers in medium/heavy duty truck technology. Below are the 2022 Carl Tapp Scholarship recipients:

  • Colton Bell of Harrison, Ark.
  • Cole Goodeaux of Hot Springs, Ark.
  • Will Wade of Sherwood, Ark.

“Americans have come to appreciate full shelves and all of our needs and wants being delivered to our doorsteps. Skilled technicians keep the trucks running, the wheels turning, ensuring safe and timely delivery for all of us,” said Shannon Newton, Arkansas Trucking Association president. “It’s my honor to welcome this year’s scholarship recipients into our industry. I’m excited about their opportunity to access training and pursue successful careers.”

Colton BellColton Bell is a senior at Harrison High School where he is an active participant of the local FFA chapter and the team captain of the Electric CDE program. Bell has taken mechanical, technical, and OSHA courses during high school, and since he was 16, he has worked at Distribution Solutions, Inc. as a diesel mechanic assistant.

“It takes remarkable work ethic and drive to be able to do what Colton has done—to not only graduate from high school while working, but to excel at both,” said Mike McNutt, president, Distribution Solutions, Inc. “Our industry needs more talented, determined young professionals like Colton. We are proud of the skills he has developed and we’re excited to see him continue to grow as part of our team with the help of the Carl Tapp scholarship.”

Bell plans to attend Northwest Technical Institute this fall.

COLE GOODEAUXCole Goodeaux graduated from Lakeside High School in Hot Springs, Ark., where he won the 2021 Lakeside Wrestling Leadership Award. For the last two years, Goodeaux has studied concurrently at the ASU Three Rivers Career Center in Malvern, Ark., taking every automotive course the school offers. His junior and senior year, he won the “Golden Wrench” award and placed first at Arkansas’ Skills USA 2021 state championship.

Goodeaux plans to attend ASU-Beebe, Searcy campus this fall.

WILL WADEWill Wade, also from Lakeside High School, will be receiving scholarship funds to attend ASU-Beebe, Searcy campus. Wade is passionate about automotive repair and has taken concurrent vocational college courses at National Park College.

“It is truly an honor to be able to award these scholarships while paying tribute to Carl’s memory,” said Kenneth Calhoun, founding member of the scholarship committee. “Once again, the candidates were so strong that the committee could not decide on just two recipients. It is encouraging for our future knowing that these gentlemen will be joining our industry and supporting the equipment that moves, well, everything.”

The Arkansas Trucking Association’s Maintenance & Technology Council established the Carl Tapp Memorial Scholarship Fund to celebrate Carl Tapp, the council’s first chairman, and his career-long commitment to nurturing new talent in the industry. The Fund is intended to enable and encourage growth in the state’s diesel technician workforce and to help assure that the safest, most knowledgeable and skilled technicians are working on the trucks and trailers on our nation’s roads. Candidates were evaluated based upon their interest and performance in STEM courses, teacher and mentor recommendations and personal interviews with the scholarship committee of industry experts.

These scholarships have been made possible by the vision and investment in the future of trucking in Arkansas by the following companies and individuals: ABF Freight, ArcBest, Bruce Purkey, DAVCO Technology, Doggett Freightliner of Arkansas, FleetNet America, Hoover Family, Inland PacLease, Kenneth Calhoun, Maverick Transportation, McConnell & Son, McKee Foods Transportation, MHC Kenworth Leasing, NorCal PacLease, PACCAR, PACCAR Leasing Company, PacLease Dallas, Pressure Systems International, Southland PacLease, Summit Truck Group, TechForce Foundation, The Tapp Family, TLG Peterbilt, Truck Centers of Arkansas, Truck-Lite Co., University of Central Arkansas and Walt Luethy.

For more information about the Scholarship Fund, visit

Contact Us

Arkansas Trucking Association
PO Box 3476 (72203)
1401 West Capitol Ave.
Suite 185
Little Rock, AR 72201

(501) 372-3462 | Phone
(501) 376-1810 | Fax

Our Mission

  • PROTECT the collective interests of trucking companies in the political and regulatory arenas.
  • PROMOTE the dynamics of trucking so that people have a better understanding of the link between America's primary freight delivery system and the standard of living they enjoy.
  • SERVE our members to help them to grow their business and their profits
You are here: Home Article Archive Three Arkansas Seniors to Receive ATA Scholarships