Arkansas Trucking Association

You are here: Home Article Archive Eight New Captains Selected for Arkansas Road Team

Eight New Captains Selected for Arkansas Road Team

LITTLE ROCK, ARK. – The Arkansas Trucking Association is pleased to announce it has selected eight new members to join the Arkansas Road Team, a group of professional drivers chosen for their commitment to highway safety, communication skills and interest in improving the image of the trucking industry. This complimentary outreach program of the ATA serves as a public education service to address highway safety and to educate the motoring public on safe driving, especially around large commercial vehicles.

The following professional drivers were selected as new members of the Arkansas Road Team. They join 12 reigning Captains; together the 20 Captains will bring the Share the Road program to every corner of the state. (Click here for high-res photos of each of the new Captains.)

Jose Ara of Texarkana, Ark. – Old Dominion Freight Line
Nathaniel Evans of Rudy, Ark. – Tyson Foods, Inc.
Jona Jordan of Conway, Ark. – FedEx Freight  
Bret McBain of Bella Vista, Ark. – Walmart Transportation         
Michael Robertson of Texarkana, Ark. – Old Dominion Freight Line

Isaiah Rodrigues of Van Buren, Ark. – J.B. Hunt Transport       
DeAndre Taylor of Jonesboro, Ark. – Star Transportation          
Daniel Workman of Hensley, Ark. – Old Dominion Freight Line  

Candidates for the Road Team competed in the final stage of the selection process on Aug. 28 in Little Rock, Ark. Nominees appeared before a panel of experts from trucking, law enforcement, education and the media expressing their industry knowledge, dedication to safety, overall safe driving record and ability to communicate the trucking industry's message.

“There were several strong candidates, making this a particularly competitive year. These eight drivers impressed the selection panel with their professionalism, engaging personalities and dedication to safety,” said Shannon Newton, president of the Arkansas Trucking Association. “We believe these qualities will serve them well as Arkansas Road Team Captains. We know they will be wonderful ambassadors for our industry and look forward to opportunities to share their stories and experiences with communities across the state.”

The Arkansas Road Team and its Share the Road program are made possible by grants awarded by the Arkansas Highway Commission with funds from the Arkansas Commercial Truck Safety and Education Program.

Since its formation in 2015, the Arkansas Road Team has taken the Share the Road safe-driving program to hundreds of schools, festivals and other events throughout the state. The Arkansas Road Team’s Share the Road presentations are offered at no cost and can be scheduled by contacting ATA at 501-372-3462 or visiting

Contact Us

Arkansas Trucking Association
PO Box 3476 (72203)
1401 West Capitol Ave.
Suite 185
Little Rock, AR 72201

(501) 372-3462 | Phone
(501) 376-1810 | Fax

Our Mission

  • PROTECT the collective interests of trucking companies in the political and regulatory arenas.
  • PROMOTE the dynamics of trucking so that people have a better understanding of the link between America's primary freight delivery system and the standard of living they enjoy.
  • SERVE our members to help them to grow their business and their profits
You are here: Home Article Archive Eight New Captains Selected for Arkansas Road Team